RSS Feed

Carb monster Grandma.

Gardening.

Maybe its for Grandmas with their straw hats and pink gardening gloves. Maybe it sounds miserable to you. Maybe its a lot of work. Maybe getting dirt all over yourself isn’t appealing to the normal 21 year old.

But it holds a special place in my heart. I can remember being 6 and sitting in the dirt in my moms garden, snapping peas right off of the plant and munching them and pulling her baby carrots out of the ground, wiping the dirt off of them and eating them.

Gross? Probably. Best carrots I’ve ever eaten and peas I’ve ever eaten? Certainly.

Its SO rewarding to eat something that you have worked hard to grow and have it taste phenomenal.

I walked outside this morning to check water my garden (which is still semi pathetic right now and still in progress) and saw this:

Baby tomatoes! AHHHH!  Yes, I squealed. Don’t judge me.

A closer look

I’m mostly growing herbs: Cilantro, Basil, Thyme, Oregano, and Lavender (honey lavender biscotti anyone?)

Thyme. So versatile.

Basil. Hellooo pesto.

but since I eat multiple tomatoes every day, I decided to try my hand at them.

I cannot wait till they are big red and juicy! Holy yum.

This morning I woke up STARVING. Yes even despite yesterdays epic snackage, so I made a MONSTER bowl of oats. Were talking 3/4 of a cup here people. I love carbs.

I use 1/2 cup generaly speaking (none of this 1/3 cup business) but todays monster bowl was 3/4 cup. Carb monster.

Along with a giant mug of rainforest alliance certified coffee.

Yes that mug has paw prints on it. Were big University of Kentucky Wildcats fans around these parts. :)

And now I’ll leave you with a gem I found on the internet. What you don’t google search your blogs name just to see what pops up? :)  (DO IT!)

Have a great day and be kind to yourself and others!

Do you like to garden?

Whats your favorite herb?  Im going to have to go with basil. So fragrant.

About Megan @vegetarianrhapsody

Health and fitness and fun lovin' college student eating, running and playing my way through life.

6 responses »

  1. NOTHING beats fresh veggies from the garden! I remember doing the exact same thing in my grandma’s massive garden when I was a kid.. you seriously just can’t beat those homegrown carrots and peas. I wish I could start growing my own but apartment livin’ doesn’t quite accommodate that. I really want to start my own little windowsill herb garden though :). I’d say my faves would have to be tied between cilantro (if only because of my guacamole addiction) and mint!

    Reply
  2. teenagehealthfreak

    i love gardening!!! we have a pretty big garden..and working in it and getting our the “fruits of your labor” is soooo awesome!!! :) i get excited too when i see baby produce starting to grow. :)

    Reply
  3. Carbs are the bomb! Oatmeal is definitely one of my favorites ;)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

