RSS Feed

The [not so] great salad debate.

Do I like salad?  Sure. I love vegetables and I think its a great way to get ’em in your diet if you have trouble doing that.

Do I think a salad is a meal? No. They just don’t satisfy me. And there is a 95% chance (never say never) that you won’t see me eat a salad as a meal. Maybe as a side dish to cram some extra veg action in, but not as my main dish.

Today I had a debate with myself about what I wanted for lunch. I knew what ingredients I wanted: avocado and tomato.

Perfectly ripe avocado? Yeah pass that puppy over here.

I just debated whether I should have them in salad form or in sandwich form. Sure, I probably still would have had two pieces of toasted sprouted bread on the side, but why would I want to do that when I could have all of the ingredients I wanted in between that delicious bread?

Then I called myself crazy for even debating and made a phenom ‘which.

Perfect

Half of an avocado, cream cheese, a whole big tomato, butter lettuce, sprinkled with sea salt, between two slices of Alvarado St. Bakery sprouted bread with salsa to dip it into. Uh.. Yeah. If its at all possible, its better than it sounds.

+ Some  Fage 2% on the side.

Because its superior to 0%. I buy it in giant tubs in an attempt to reduce my waste. I go through a lot of this stuff.

Then tragedy struck. I was about to reach my hand in the cashew bag, but it was missing! (I’m visiting home right now so someone in the fam ate them, they didn’t just disappear) So, I immediately got into the car to go to get more cashews. Naturally.

Crisis averted.

I obviously didn’t eat enough for lunch becaue about 2 hours later I was haaaaangry again.  So, I rectified that immediately with a snack:

Bagel with almond butta.

You’re wondering if that’s a “bagel thin”? Absolutely not. If I want a bagel, which I often do, I want a bagel with a chewy outside and soft doughy interior. And bagel thins just don’t get the job done. Plus, they have a laundry list of ingredients.

Alvarado St. Bakery hasn’t failed me yet. These are redonkulous.

Do you eat salads for meals?

Bagel thins vs. bagels: which one wins for you?

About Megan @vegetarianrhapsody

Health and fitness and fun lovin' college student eating, running and playing my way through life.

2 responses »

  1. Thanks for popping by my blog ; ) I know I think you have before as well, but not sure if I got the chance to come to yours, but today I am ; )

    I consider a salad a meal, but i make a HUGE salad with tons of veggies, spinach, and a source of protein like chicken or fish!

    Have a great weekend!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

