RSS Feed

Botox Mom? What is this world coming to?

Hello, all! I dont want to be a debbie downer, I just wanted to talk about a story I heard yesterday that was shocking to me, and I wanted to hear your thoughts on it.

So the story I heard was about a mom routinely giving her 8 year old daughter Botox injections before she competed in pageants. Yes. I’m being for real.

http://abcnews.go.com/Health/mom-year-daughter-botox-young-young/story?id=13580804

I’m not one to voice my opinion about the ways that parents raise their children because thats such a personal thing, but reading this article made me so sad for this little girl.

When you’re 8 years old, you’re awkward. I can attest to that first hand. I had a bowl cut. I wore basketball shorts that were down to my knees almost every day. I played outside, had scabby knees and elbows, ate McDonalds, got detention for talking in class, got in fights with my girl friends (you’re not invited to my birthday party anymore! haha Anyone else ever say that?), I played football at recess with all of the boys:

Okay, okay I'm 21 in that picture, not 8. Close enough.

I did the things that normal 8 year old girls (okay tomboys) did. I never worried about my appearance. I never noticed a “wrinkle” on my face. And I hated the doctor and getting shots (still do) so I would have neeeever wanted to get shot in the face in the name of vanity.

It makes me sad that a girl who is 8 would even notice a “wrinkle”.  Lets be real though, there is no way she had a wrinkle.

And it makes me sad that her mother, who should have told her she is beautiful and perfect just the way she is offered to give her Botox injections.

But what is really sad is that we will probably start hearing stories like this more and more often. They are now marketing shape-ups to little girls.

What kind of message does that send?

We should be instilling confidence in not only young girls but in to everyone we meet (AND in ourselves) not teaching them to want to change their bodies or appearance.  

Compliment a stranger today! It makes you feel good AND it makes them feel good. :)

How do you feel about these stories? Im mostly sad about it. When you’re 8 you shouldn’t be worrying about things like that.

I hope your day is going well! :)

About Megan @vegetarianrhapsody

Health and fitness and fun lovin' college student eating, running and playing my way through life.

4 responses »

  1. Oh my gosh, that is just disgusting. How could a mom inject her daughter with botox like that???

    Reply
  2. So sick! But I did hear that she was paid to make-up the lies about injecting the botox by a British tabloid. I hope that is the case, although there is something so deeply wrong with that tabloid, if they did that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

